8.16.20

I got to see G today! She drove from Washington State to Utah across the country to Maine and then down to DC, all with my new little niece, THE PRINCESS! BUTTAHCUP! (the second pic, obvs), who is the cutest and sweetest little pup!

I had a hard afternoon, and when I’m feeling that way my first instinct is to withdraw instead of engage. It’s not like I meet up and act like everything is fine … I’d just as soon not see or talk to anyone at all. I’m not used to telling anyone – even my people – in real-time when I’m struggling, because I just really don’t like to feel that vulnerable. But I’m trying to get better at that so I told her, she listened, and I SURVIVED. We talked, walked Butter along the river, found a snakeskin (EW-ah!), saw a deer, talked some more, walked up on the bridge to get a nice view of Navy Yard and the water, caught up on everything, had wine on the deck in the backyard, talked some MORE, and then we said goodbye so she could hit the road again in the morning.

It feels so strange to see someone you love and wonder when in the world you will see them again with everything that’s going on, and that’s probably a whole different post. But I’m so grateful she made the drive to see us so I could spend time with her and Buttercup, and her road trip also has me jonesing for one of my own now!

Leave a comment