New Mexico recap

I realize I never wrote again while in New Mexico. WHOOPS. Time flew by so fast, and I really enjoyed being present my last day or so while I soaked everything up.

We went out to a chill little dive in Tesuque with fantastic (and strong!) margaritas, beautiful murals, and FRITO PIE. We spent that night with L+P up on their rooftop and then inside, listening to music and unsoberly eating a really good cake B’s mom made earlier in the day. The next day we got massages and then went out for a fancy-ass meal at Geronimo. And all through the trip I got a ton of fun playtime with Coco.

B used the best word to describe the trip: affirming. Something about it felt like home. It could be any number of things: the arid climate, the mountains, the red rocks, the friendly people, the casual vibe, or the wide open spaces … who really knows. But the trip was much needed for present-day relaxation and future planning, and I felt like it really delivered.

Thinking of a big move feels somewhat scary in a way, but exciting, too. I don’t want to make the same mistakes we made when we moved to Texas in 2015, so we’re being very intentional about our thought process and decision-making. We’re not thinking of this as The Move, but rather The Next Step Toward the Rest of Our Lives. That helps me keep it in perspective.

And now? We plan. We think through the scenarios. I requested remote status for my job and got it, which was the biggest damn deal (I might be the most senior person there to be full-time remote? Unclear). And now that we have that out of the way, it’s getting things ready for me not to be here in DC, namely getting my team at work ready. Getting the house ready and deciding if we want to rent it out or sell it. Deciding whether to rent or buy in NM. There are a lot of unknowns, but what I do know is this: we wanted to have a decision made or a plan ready for all of this by the end of 2022, and we do. We want to move in 2023, and I can’t think of one good goddamn reason why we won’t. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment