Things I love, vol. 25 – Snowstorm edition!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We finally got a respectable snowstorm in DC last weekend, and it reminded me of all the lovely things that can happen when the snow doesn’t stop falling for 33 hours!

  1. The way light reflects off the snow, whether it’s the extended glow from the city at night or the unmistakable blue hue in the morning from an overnight snowfall.
  2. The sound of powdery snow crunching under my snow boots.
  3. Shoveling snow! I embrace my inner weirdo for loving this – no regrets!
  4. Neighborly camaraderie: This is our first snow in this house, and I loved seeing all the neighbors take turns shoveling the sidewalk and street, brushing snow off cars and steps, salting the walkways, and just generally taking care of each other. Our next-door neighbor is an elderly man who didn’t come out during the storm (that I noticed), but somehow his steps and sidewalk were always clear.
  5. A snowstorm just makes everything more magical. We baked, watched movies, cooked wintery comfort food, took a walk around the neighborhood, and hunkered down in the middle of our snow globe – and it all felt extra special because every time we looked out the window, it was still snowing.

Leave a comment